We make rehabilitation robotics finally accessible to the largest numbers

Axinesis is a spin-off from the Université catholique de Louvain (UCL, Belgium), which carries a clear mission: to improve the functional recovery of patients through innovative and accessible technologies dedicated to the rehabilitation of the upper limbs of patients suffering from stroke or children with cerebral palsy.

One of the first solutions developed by Axinesis, the REAplan® system, aims to accompany adults suffering from a disability of the upper limbs, following a stroke event, as well as children with cerebral palsy.

This interactive and auto-adaptive robotic medical device combines robotics and therapeutic games, with the aim of improving the rehabilitation of the upper limbs, by means of a personalized assistance to the movements of the arms of the patients.

More precisely, the intensity of repeated movements, as permitted by REAplan, optimizes the process of neuronal reorganization, also known as neuroplasticity, after brain damages, and then contributes to the motor development of children with cerebral palsy as well as to the recovery of adult stroke patients.

The research carried out for over 9 years by Dr. Julien SAPIN (co-founder) and his team, as well as the clinical tests carried out in numerous rehabilitation centers, have highlighted the undeniable contribution of our interactive robotic medical device during patients rehabilitation programs.

The exceptional intensity of movements repetition, as offered by the REAplan®, the companion robot manufactured by Axinesis, optimizes the process of neuronal reorganization, also known as neuro-plasticity, and thus contributes to the motor re-learning of children with cerebral palsy as well as to the recovery of adults stroke patients.

Do you want to contact us ?

Nothing is easier, send us your request via this form!

Contact us

Vision and mission

Axinesis is a healthcare company whose mission is to democratize the access to innovative medical technologies for the benefit of patients, practitioners and healthcare institutions.

Thanks to our latest-generation rehabilitation robot, REAplan, our ambition is to be able to accompany the rehabilitation of the upper limbs of brain-damaged patients, very early in their management, for their greatest benefit, by maximizing the phenomenon of cerebral plasticity.

Our vision is to contribute to a better performance of healthcare systems, by allowing as many patients and centers as possible to benefit from a system which offers an investment/patient-benefit ratio very adapted to the economic constraints of the rehabilitation services, and by allowing an optimization of practitioners’ time and a more efficient allocation of the budgets and of the time dedicated to patients.

  • Take the benefit of using 1 device for all stages of rehabilitation
  • Save precious therapy time thanks to an easy and very fast set-up and patients transfer
  • Improve patients motivation thanks to innovative graphic interfaces
  • Train with a functional work area for a full upper limb extension
  • Offer a real-time auto-adaptative assistance
  • Track evolutions of patients thanks to our automated post-processing of data
  • Simplify therapy and improve patients’ autonomy during treatment

Management team

Éric Hanesse

CEO

Edhec Business School and Executive MBA HEC. Former business unit manager at General Electric Healthcare. Former Managing Director of an SME in Human Biology.

Eric has mainly worked on the marketing and sales development of product portfolios, their adaptation to market opportunities and evolutions, maximizing their commercial performance and the performance of the organizations he led.

With more than 20 years of professional experience, Eric has been able to commercialize numerous ranges of medical devices, in the fields of medical imaging, healthcare IT, consumables and OR products, surgical systems and IVD devices.

Julien Sapin

CTO

ECAM and Université catholique de Louvain.
Julien holds a PhD in Engineering Sciences and has also obtained two Master’s degrees as a Civil Engineer and Industrial Engineer. He has specialized himself in mechatronics and more specifically in the design of robotic assistance devices for the neuromotor rehabilitation of the upper limbs.

Julien has been developing such robots for over 10 years. His research was granted from October 2010 to October 2014 by the Walloon Region under the First Spin-off program. The latter follows the doctorate in engineering sciences of Julien. Funded by the FRIA, this thesis took place from October 2006 to October 2010 and was dedicated to the design of an interactive robot for the rehabilitation of the upper limbs. This research was carried out in the team of Professor Bruno Dehez of the Université catholique de Louvain and developed in close collaboration with the team of Professor Thierry Lejeune of the Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc.

Partners

Axinesis works in collaboration with numerous academic institutions on robotics and augmented reality in the field of neurorehabilitation, as well as other research projects to develop future technologies for a better management of brain-damaged patients.

luc
Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc
godinne
CHU Dinant Godinne
montreal
École Polytechnique de Montréal
justine
Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine, Montréal

Values and Commitment

Innovation, teamwork, responsibility and commitment are the values shared by all Axinesis employees. Values at the heart of our corporate vision for the health of patients and healthcare institutions.

Innovation

We are working to continually improve our technology, in particular in order to offer rehabilitation robotics to an increasing number of patients through our medical devices.

Team spirit

The success of our mission depends above all on the quality, know-how and commitment of our teams. That is why we implement a social policy centered on the motivation and well-being of the teams. It relies in particular on a solid integration mechanism, permanent trainings and a reinforced and responsible social dialogue.

Responsability

Axinesis commits in a procedure of sustainable development, by acting in favor of preserving the environment, through a reliable and ecologically responsible economic management. These commitments are reflected in the day-to-day management of the company and in its interaction with its customers and partners.

At Axinesis, we strive to follow a high-level quality approach. In this context, Axinesis has received all approvals, to date, in strict compliance with European quality standards (ISO 13485 and ISO 9001). Its first medical device, the REAplan®, is a CE 93/42 mark medical device.

Axinesis is environmentally conscious and involved in an environmental policy approach to reduce the impact of its business and encourages the responsible use of consumables and resources, both in its headquarters and commercial offices (paperless processes, teleconference and home-office) and for its production activities (suppliers in short circuits, etc.).

Careers

Axinesis is experiencing rapid development and is seeking to bring together young and motivated talent.

If you would like to join the Axinesis team and help improve the daily life of patients with motor disabilities, contact us at: contact@axinesis.com

Pour que la robotique de rééducation soit enfin accessible au plus grand nombre

Axinesis est une spin-off de l’Université catholique de Louvain (UCL, Belgique), qui porte une mission claire : améliorer la récupération fonctionnelle des patients grâce à des technologies innovantes et accessibles, dédiées à la réadaptation des membres supérieurs des patients atteints de lésions cérébrales, dont notamment les adultes victimes d’accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC) ou des enfants atteints d’infirmités motrices d’origine cérébrale.

Une des premières solutions développées par Axinesis, le système REAplan®, vise à accompagner les adultes souffrant d’un handicap des membres supérieurs, à la suite d’un AVC, tout autant que les enfants atteints d’infirmité motrice d’origine cérébrale (IMC).

Ce dispositif médical robotique interactif et auto-adaptatif combine la robotique et les jeux thérapeutiques, dans le but d’améliorer la rééducation des membres supérieurs, au travers d’une assistance personnalisée aux mouvements des bras des patients.

Plus précisément, l’intensité de mouvements répétés, telle que le permet le REAplan, optimise le processus de réorganisation neuronale, aussi connu sous le nom de neuroplasticité, après des lésions cérébrales, et contribue ensuite au développement moteur chez les enfants atteints d’infirmités motrices d’origine cérébrale aussi bien qu’à la récupération chez les adultes victimes d’AVC.

Les recherches conduites depuis plus de 9 ans par le Dr Julien SAPIN (cofondateur) et son équipe, ainsi que les tests cliniques menés au sein de nombreux centres de rééducation, ont pu mettre en évidence l’apport indéniable de notre dispositif médical d’assistance robotisé interactif lors des programmes de réadaptation des patients.

L’intensité exceptionnelle de la répétition de mouvements que permet le REAplan®, le robot compagnon proposé par Axinesis, optimise le processus de réorganisation neuronale, aussi connu sous le nom de neuro-plasticité, et contribue ainsi au réapprentissage moteur chez les enfants atteints d’infirmités motrices d’origine cérébrale aussi bien qu’à la récupération chez les adultes victimes d’AVC.

Vous souhaitez être contactés ?

Rien de plus simple, envoyez-nous votre demande via ce formulaire !

Contactez-nous

Vision et mission

Axinesis est une entreprise au service de la santé dont la mission consiste à démocratiser l’accès à des technologies médicales innovantes au service des patients, des praticiens et des établissements de santé.

Grâce à notre robot de rééducation de dernière génération, REAplan, notre ambition est de pouvoir accompagner la rééducation des membres supérieurs des patients cérébrolésés très tôt dans leur prise en charge, pour leur plus grand bénéfice, en favorisant au maximum le phénomène de plasticité cérébrale.

Notre vision est de contribuer à une meilleure performance des systèmes de santé en permettant au maximum de patients et de centres utilisateurs de bénéficier d’un système qui offre un ratio investissement/bénéfice patient très adapté aux contraintes économiques actuelles des services de rééducation, et permet l’optimisation du temps des praticiens et une allocation plus efficace des budgets et du temps consacré aux patients.

  • Bénéficiez de l’avantage d‘un système couvrant tous les stades de la rééducation
  • Sauvez un temps précieux de rééducation grâce à un transfert patient rapide et facilité
  • Améliorez la motivation des patients grâce à des interfaces graphiques innovantes
  • Une zone de travail fonctionnelle permettant une extension complète des membres supérieurs
  • Offrez une assistance auto-adaptative en temps réel
  • Mesurez les évolutions des patients grâce à notre post-traitement automatisé des données
  • Simplifiez la thérapie et augmentez l’autonomie des patients durant leur rééducation

Équipe de direction

Éric Hanesse

CEO

Edhec Business School et Executive MBA HEC.
Ancien directeur de business unit chez General Electric Healthcare. Ancien directeur général au sein d’une PME en biologie humaine.

Eric a essentiellement travaillé sur le développement marketing et commercial de portefeuilles produits, leur adaptation aux potentiels et évolutions des marchés, la maximisation de leur rendement commercial et la performance des organisations qu’il a dirigées.

Avec plus de 20 années d’expérience professionnelle, Eric a pu développer la commercialisation de nombreuses gammes de dispositifs médicaux, en imagerie médicale, en Health IT, consommables et produits de bloc, systèmes chirurgicaux ou encore des automates et réactifs de diagnostic en biologie humaine.

Julien Sapin

CTO

ECAM et Université Catholique de Louvain.
Julien est docteur en sciences de l’ingénieur, il a également obtenu deux Masters en tant qu’Ingénieur Civil et Ingénieur Industriel. Il s’est spécialisé en mécatronique et plus particulièrement en conception de dispositifs d’assistance robotisés pour la rééducation neuromotrice des membres supérieurs.

Julien développe ce genre de robots depuis plus de 10 ans. Il a été financé d’octobre 2010 à octobre 2014 par la Région wallonne dans le cadre du programme First Spin-off. Ce dernier fait suite au doctorat en sciences de l’ingénieur de Julien. Financé par le FRIA, cette thèse s’est déroulée d’octobre 2006 à octobre 2010 et était dédiée à la conception d’un robot interactif pour la rééducation des membres supérieurs. Ces travaux de recherche ont été effectués au sein de l’équipe du Professeur Bruno Dehez de l’Université catholique de Louvain et se sont développés en étroite collaboration avec l’équipe du Professeur Thierry Lejeune des Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc.

Partenaires

Axinesis travaille en collaboration avec de nombreuses institutions académiques sur la thématique de la robotique ou encore de la réalité augmentée, dans le domaine de la neuro-rééducation, ainsi que sur d’autres projets de recherches pour mettre au point les futures technologies destinées à une meilleure prise en charge des patients cérébro-lésés.

luc
Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc
godinne
CHU Dinant Godinne
montreal
École Polytechnique de Montréal
justine
Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine, Montréal

Valeurs et engagement

L’innovation, l’esprit d’équipe, la responsabilité et l’engagement sont les valeurs que partagent tous les collaborateurs d’Axinesis. Des valeurs au coeur de notre vision d’entreprise au service de la santé des patients et des établissements sanitaires.

L'innovation

Nous travaillons à améliorer sans cesse notre technologie, notamment afin de pouvoir proposer la robotique de rééducation à un nombre toujours plus important de patients bénéficiaires, au travers de nos dispositifs médicaux.

L'esprit d'équipe

La réussite de notre mission repose avant tout sur la qualité, le savoir-faire et l’engagement de nos équipes. C’est pourquoi nous mettons en oeuvre une politique sociale centrée sur la motivation et le bien-être des équipes. Elle s’appuie notamment sur un solide dispositif d’intégration, des formations permanentes et un dialogue social renforcé et responsable.

La responsabilité

Axinesis s’engage dans une démarche de développement durable en agissant en faveur de la préservation de l’environnement, par une gestion économique fiable et écologiquement responsable. Ces engagements se retrouvent dans la gestion quotidienne de la société et dans son interaction avec ses clients et partenaires.

Chez Axinesis, nous nous appliquons à suivre une démarche qualité de haut niveau. Dans ce cadre, Axinesis a reçu toutes les homologations, à date, l’inscrivant dans le plus strict respect des normes qualité européennes (les normes ISO 13485 et ISO 9001). Son premier dispositif médical, le REAplan®, est un dispositif médical marqué CE 93/42.

Axinesis est soucieuse de l’environnement et s’implique dans une démarche de politique environnementale pour réduire l’impact de son activité et encourage une utilisation responsable des consommables et ressources, tant sur son activité de siège et bureaux commerciaux (démarche paperless, téléconférence et télétravail) que pour son activité de production (fournisseurs en circuits courts, etc.).

Carrières

Axinesis connaît un développement rapide et cherche à rassembler de jeunes talents motivés.

Si vous souhaitez intégrer l’équipe d’Axinesis et participer à l’amélioration du quotidien de patients souffrant de handicap moteur, contactez nous sous : contact@axinesis.com